The Grammy Awards

Posted: February 12, 2007 in Dixie Chicks, freedom

Okay, I admit it, last night was the first time I’ve ever watched the Grammys in my life. Normally I don’t go for that sort of thing; it seems like so much self-congratulatory nonsense to me. Besides, my favorite musicians rarely win anyway, so why bother?

Last night was the exception, though. See, one of the year’s best albums and songs – “Taking the Long Way” and “Not Ready to Make Nice” – by one of the year’s best groups – The Dixie Chicks – were up for several well-deserved awards. I was most pleased to see them win Best Song, Best Record and Album of the Year. They deserved it.

Snubbed by the country music scene, but embraced by nearly everyone else, “Taking the Long Way” was a middle finger in the eye of everyone who dissed, threatened and insulted them in 2003 after Natalie Maines criticized the president. Their victory last night was a victory for anyone who believes in true freedom of speech.

The video for “Not Ready to Make Nice” is excellent, too. Well done, Chicks. I wasn’t a fan before, but I sure am now. Keep it up.

Comments are closed.