Republican Ignorance

Posted: June 19, 2007 in republicans

I honestly don’t know why so many Republicans place such a high value on scientific ignorance, but according to recent reports, over 64% of those identifying themselves as such also don’t believe the theory of evolution. Worse yet, when asked at a recent debate, 7 out of 10 of the Republican candidates for president said they don’t believe the theory.

Instead, they believe ideas like Creationism or Intelligent Design (which is really Creationism dressed up as science) instead of “Darwinism” as they call it. That’s a term that didn’t exist until they made it up in response to the publication of Darwin’s Theory of Evolution by Natural Selection. Leave it to the illiterati to take a position against something they don’t understand, then invent a pejorative to describe it.

I reject both, for two reasons. First, neither is remotely scientific. They both rely on the same faulty reasoning to achieve their respective faulty conclusions. Creationism tells us the world was created 6,000 years ago, on a Tuesday morning, then rejects any scientific data that proves otherwise, because the Bible says so. ID says that maybe the world is really old, but that God was still active in its creation, and anyway, everything we see was still created pretty much as we see it, because the Bible says so.

My second reason is that in attempting to turn a religious belief into a scientific theory, both are inherently sacrilegious. They commit the sin of elevating science to a stature it does not deserve, while simultaneously lowering religious teaching to the realm of the profane. Religion is religion, and science is science, and neither should be confused for the other.

I believe in God. I also believe science. Notice the difference? It’s not merely grammatical. I have faith in God. I believe science. Faith is belief in something that can’t be proven. Belief is relying on observed and proven information for your conclusions. I do not believe in science any more than I have faith in government. Both are human institutions, and as such undeserving of faith. I believe science is valid because its conclusions can be observed, tested and replicated. I have faith in my religion for precisely the opposite reasons.

And no, there is no contradiction to me.

I’m not going to Hell because I disagree with the narrow-minded, limited world view of the Creationist Fundamentalists and the other members of the Flat Earth Society, no matter what they’ve told me in the past.

These people once thought the Earth was the center of the universe, and all the planets and stars revolved around it. They were wrong then, and they’re wrong now.

Of course, there’s no shortage of religious ignorance on the other side, if the proliferation of “Darwin” fish is any indicator. The fish was a symbol of early Christianity, before the cross came into general use. Many still use the fish now, because it’s a good symbol. Christians are called to be “fishers of men”, and the fish makes sense. However, many atheistic Darwinists have, in a sophomoric attempt at humor, added feet and the word “Evolve” to it. Like I said, sophomoric and infantile.

Religion isn’t science, and science isn’t religion. Understanding of one does not preclude understanding of the other. Mixing them does justice to neither.

Comments are closed.