Ode to Blackwater

Posted: September 21, 2007 in Blackwater, Bush, protest, war

(Original tune by the Doobie Brothers)

Well, I went to Iraq and I’m ready for killin’
Ol Tigris river, she’s callin’ my name
Insurgents are jumpin’
IEDs keep on thumpin’
Blackwater keeps rollin’ on past just the same

Old Blackwater, keep on rollin’
Baghdad moon, wont you keep on shinin on me
Old Blackwater, keep on rollin’
Tikrit moon, wont you keep on shinin’ on me
Old Blackwater, keep on rollin’
Mr. President, just keep on signin’ that check
Yeah, keep on signin’ my check
Gonna make lots o’ cash, yeah buddy
Gonna make tons o’ cash all right
And I aint got no worries
cause I ain’t got no morals at all

Well, if it rains, I dont care
Dont make no difference to me
Just take that SUV thats goin up town
Yeah, I’m gonna load the rifle in my hand
And flick the safety off
And Ill be buryin’ hajjis by noon

Old Blackwater, keep on rollin’
CBS spotlight, don’t you keep on shinin on me
Old Blackwater, keep on rollin’
NBC spotlight, don’t you keep on shinin on me
Old Blackwater, keep on rollin’
CNN spotlight, don’t you keep on shinin on me
Yeah, stop shinin’ your light
It’s gonna f*** everything, yeah man
Gonna f*** everything up right
And now I got worries
cause I ain’t got no morals at all

I wish I’d stayed back home in dixieland
Policeman come and cuff me by the hands
By the hand, yeah, cuff me by the hands Mr. policeman
Gonna sleep in a jail cell all night long

Comments
  1. kayinmaine says:

    LMAO! Good one.

    Blackwater is Georgie’s personal religious militia. “Osama has one Daddy, so why can’t I!”, said Georgie.

    Spit.

  2. afrit007 says:

    Thanks. I remember listening to Rush Limbaugh (spit, there – I admitted it) back in the Clinton years and hearing a similar parody referring to the “Whitewater” investigation. I thought it was time someone remade it.

    The best part is, I didn’t even have to change the title of the song.