Wesley Clark’s comments on John McCain

Posted: June 30, 2008 in john mccain, military, politics, republicans

Retired USAF General Wesley Clark recently went on Face the Nation and repeated criticism of McCain he’s said in public previously.  He was right the first time, and he’s right this time.  Here’s the full quote, in case you missed it (emphasis mine):

Bob Schieffer: Well you, you went so far as to say that you thought John McCain was, quote, and these are your words, “untested and untried,” And I must say I, I had to read that twice, because you’re talking about somebody who was a prisoner of war. He was a squadron commander of the largest squadron in the Navy. He’s been on the Senate Armed Services Committee for lo these many years. How can you say that John McCain is un- untested and untried? General?

GENERAL WESLEY CLARK: Because in the matters of national security policy making, it’s a matter of understanding risk. It’s a matter of gauging your opponents, and it’s a matter of being held accountable. John McCain’s never done any of that in his official positions. I certainly honor his service as a prisoner of war. He was a hero to me and to hundreds of thousands and millions of others in Armed Forces as a prisoner of war. He has been a voice on the Senate Armed Services Committee, and he has traveled all over the world. But he hasn’t held executive responsibility. That large squadron in Air- in the Navy that he commanded, it wasn’t a wartime squadron. He hasn’t been there and ordered the bombs to fall. He hasn’t seen what it’s like when diplomats come in and say, ‘I don’t know whether we’re going to be able to get this point through or not. Do you want to take the risk? What about your reputation? How do we handle it-‘

Bob Schieffer: Well-

GENERAL WESLEY CLARK: ‘ -it publicly.’ He hasn’t made those calls, Bob.

I honor and respect McCain’s service.  But being a lousy pilot who loses a multimillion dollar aircraft and gets taken prisoner, does not qualify one to be President.

Wesley Clark is absolutely right.  Here’s the rest of the quote.  He’s taking some heat for this latest criticism.  But I say, if anyone has the authority, experience and knowledge base to criticize one of the Men Who Would Be President, a General with real command experience in war and peacetime is the right man for the job.

I’d have supported Wesley Clark for Commander-in-Chief, if he’d decided to run.

Comments
  1. Ernie Bussiere says:

    clark is not a real general. he got that commission as a political gift.
    he’s another grand example of the idiots and criminals that infest
    our capitol pretending to care about this country, but whos only goal
    is to destroy it. unfortunately, they’ re in positions of power where they
    can go about this.

  2. Afrit007 says:

    Um, no. Wesley Clark is a man who truly earned the rank he held. He has proven combat and leadership experience in both war and peacetime. All Generalships are political promotions to a certain degree, but that does not mean all Generals are incompetent political hacks and sycophants. Far from it. You don’t get to be General on purely political reasons. You need demonstrated leadership credentials.

    This is the kind of crap we can expect to hear from the McCain side now, as they desperately try to tear down anyone who criticizes their man. Pathetic.

  3. Sneaky snake says:

    “This is the kind of crap we can expect to hear from the McCain side now, as they desperately try to tear down anyone who criticizes their man. Pathetic.” ???

    Really? You are pathetic ! What a moron. This is a clear attack on McCain by a second rate general who WAS elevated to his position for pure political reasons. This is obviously just a surrogate attacking the candidate so the candidate could keep his hands clean. Talk about reverse swift boating ! The Dems have taken a play from the dirty politics book of the Republicans. They were wong then this is wrong now. What is wrong with just debating the issues? Obaaaaaama is just another liberal sheep folowing the heard. He has no new ideas to put forth. Change I can Believe in? B.S. is what I hear. He is weak on foreign policy and domestic issues. Hillary cleaned his clock on the issues but every one is fooled by the smoke and mirrors of this multi media campaign. This is little more than the Cult of Personality. He is a SHAM ! And you are still a moron.

  4. Afrit007 says:

    And thank you for making my point for me. Ad hominem attacks – the right wing is certainly employing advanced debating methods these days.

    McCain has no new ideas, no knowledge of military, economic, or social policy, and no plan for digging the country out of the pit it’s in at the moment.

    He’s a fraud.

  5. Sneaky snake says:

    “And thank you for making my point for me. Ad hominem attacks – the right wing is certainly employing advanced debating methods these days.”

    Believe me pal, I am NOT right wing. Like I said, just in case you were unable to read my comments through the ideological fog you seem to be enshrouded in, Hillary cleaned his clock with her ideas. She has a much better grasp of the issues that this political hack. He is just a well rehearsed talking head regurgitating the same old tired ideas over and over. How are you liking the “new” Obama in the last couple of weeks? Seems like he is “moving to the center”. I bet that has you squirming in your panties ! Wow what such great ideas ! He’s now just rehashing Bush’s ideas from the failed “faith based initiatives” to his change in stance on getting the troops out of Iraq. What a joke. He is just a slick marketing campaign and you have bought into it. Learn to think for yourself. I plan to vote for someone other than the two old has been parties. Sure you will call it a wasted vote or a protest vote. Call it what you want, but I refuse to be a part of a failed system any longer. Vote for real change.

  6. Afrit007 says:

    So, who will you be voting for? And stop being so immature – it cheapens your argument. “Squirming in my panties?” Grow the hell up.

  7. Sneaky snake says:

    Oh yeah, I forgot about this crappy site ! Now where were we? Oh I remember, I am writing in my vote. I have not yet decided. Could I vote for you? You seem to be a pretty bright person. I could vote for Jesse Ventura, but he will not run and would not serve. I was thinking about voting for Ralph Nader, but I think he has gone soft in the head like an over ripe peach. How about Newt Gingrich? What do you think about him? What about Colin Powell? Oh wait, I think he might be supporting Obaaaaaama. Condi Rice is too, well, uh, she’s a girl’s girl. Now Hillary? She’s a man’s kinda woman ! Did you see the photo of her in the white dress, late in her campaign, she had that sad look in her eye. Man she looks so sultry in that photo ! What in the hell was Bill thinkin? Yeah, I might write her in. Ok, It’s between Newt and Hillary. Who should I pick?

    Now back to good ol Wes. Did you see where he has been un-invited to the Convention? Wow what a dis by Obama ! Slap ! Take that Wes !

  8. Afrit007 says:

    Dude, I don’t give a crap. Vote for me. Vote for McCain. Vote for Hillary. Vote for Ren and fucking Stimpy for all I care. That’s why we have secret ballots in our elections.

    I just hope you put more thought into your vote than you do for your posts.

  9. Sneaky snake says:

    I’ll tell you what bucko, join me at this site and you can see exactly what I put into my posts ! (insert smiley face here) You gotta promise to use the same name you use here ! That way I know who you are. Come on, let’s have some fun. Life is not really that serious is is?

    http://www.ez-look.com/phpboard/index.php

    Come on buddy. Believe me, you’ll love it. The Dems to Rep ratio is about 15 to 1. It’s like shooting fish in a barrel. And I’m the fish ! Funny thing is, they never land a shot on me.

  10. Sneaky snake says:

    Heloooooo! Anybody in there? Hey there buddy ! I gave you an invite and I have not seen you around in my neck of the woods. How neighborly is that? I thought there was some special kind of Northeastern hospitality. Have we been painting and sewing and eating curry too much to come out and play with an old seal? The offer still stands. Indiana is nice this time of year. Even your pal Barack Obama even stopped in for a visit. He even shot a basketball at the Hall of Fame. You can check him out on You Tube if you have them time.

  11. Afrit007 says:

    Actually, I’ve been working for a living. Some of us have to do that, you know. And besides, I did check the site out. You’re every bit as insightful, entertaining and thoughtful there as you are here. That is to say, not in the slightest.

    I have better things to do than bang my head against this particular wall, so I’m gonna have to say “Thanks, but no thanks” to your bridge to nowhere.

    Have fun.