Happy Super Bowl Sunday!

Posted: February 1, 2009 in irrelevant, sports, super bowl
Tags:

Last year at this time I posted a piece about why I didn’t watch the Super Bowl then, and why football and in fact all sports are pretty much irrelevant.  In case you haven’t read it, here it is.

Since no one argued with me then, I’ll assume I was correct at the time.  I’ll also assume I’m just as on-target this year.

A few weeks ago, just before the inauguration of our 44th president and the first black man to be elected chief executive of this great nation, I overheard someone complaining about all the money the networks and the government were spending covering the event.  Unable to stop myself, I interjected into the conversation.  Here’s a paraphrase of what happened next:

Me:  When was the last time we had a presidential inaguration that was truly historic?  All the others have been like “oh, great, another rich white guy got in.”  This is truly historic.

Him:  I just, um, think that with the state the country is in, the recession, we shouldn’t be spending the money.  That’s all.  I need some coffee.

People don’t like it when I’m right.

And now we have the networks and advertisers spending just as much money, two weeks later, to cover something infinitely less relevant and historic.  Where’s our sense of perspective?  If the networks had spent ten times as much covering Obama’s inauguration as they did, the money would still be well spent.  Because that event, unlike all but a few previous inaugurations, was truly historic.  In a way that the Super Bowl isn’t.

We may have black presidents in the future.  We may even elect a black woman president at some future date.  But they will not be the first.  We will never again have a first black president.  That was history.

The Super Bowl is played every year, and let’s face it, the only thing that really changes are the teams.  Not one game is truly historic.  No Super Bowl ever changed the world.  Maybe this one, coming as it does in the middle of a Recession, could provide a slight boost to the economy.  But I doubt it.

Voting matters.  Football doesn’t.  Get used to it, sports fans.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.  No jock ever changed the world by doing jock stuff.  Barack Hussein Obama may play basketball, but that’s not how he made history.

Comments
  1. chamay0 says:

    I am so loving to read your post. They are so brutally honest and to the point. I’ve told you before and I still mean it, you are so damn refreshing. I have another joint site with a bunch of writers that I am getting ready to change the look of, I plan to send you a private email requesting your participation if you can find the time.

  2. Afrit007 says:

    I aim to please, my dear. I look forward to your correspondence, and will certainly make every effort to contribute.