Bush-bashing bridge babes burned badly by boneheads

Posted: November 15, 2007 in bridge, Bush, protest, voting

Sorry, couldn’t resist.

Here’s the full story:

f_0_bridgecomp_nytimes_320.jpg

U.S. Team In Hot Water For Anti-Bush Sign

Apparently it’s now a crime to tell the truth if you’re an American. With world opinion of our President and our country at an all-time low, now is not the time to be punishing people for exercising their constitutionally-protected rights to freedom of speech.

I agree with Mr. Kleinman. If the USBF wants to continue to claim to represent American bridge players, then it must recognize and support their free speech rights instead of punishing dissenting opinions.

This is, to continue the alliterative beginning, bullshit.

Comments
  1. […] A handful of the liberal bloggers who are defending the bridge players (for example, here, here and here) don’t seem to understand what the First Amendment says and […]

  2. […] handful of the liberal bloggers who are defending the bridge players (for example, here, here and here) don’t seem to understand what the First Amendment says and […]

  3. tastyburger says:

    I’m one of the other so-called liberals as my site was referenced as well. I too had some high spikes in traffic. I find the whole thing comical since I was simply commenting on something I felt was much larger than a political issue. But, if that’s how it’s classified, so be it. At least it raised a little awareness and the Bridge players are now reinstated.

  4. Sandman says:

    Thanks for the comment; it’s good to know the other targets of Ms. Ridenour’s sneer were just as bemused as I was. Anyone who knows me would find the accusation of “liberal” utterly ridiculous. I was a registered Republican up until the last election. I am extremely conservative on a number of issues, but on the topic of Constitutional rights and civil liberties I am firmly on the side of freedom.

    I never expected the story to get as much attention as it did. To be perfectly honest, I only commented on it because “b” alliterations are funny. And also because I believed that it’s a symptom of a much deeper national psychosis. It’s political correctness gone amok.

    At least the national attention forced the USBF to back off and let the ladies play. Hopefully they’ve learned their lesson.